Press Releases

Alberta Barley announces new executive, amalgamation resolution passed at AGM

Following Alberta Barley’s Annual General Meeting (AGM), in conjunction with the Prairie Cereals Summit, the commission is pleased to announce the executive of its board of directors. Tara Sawyer, who farms in the Acme area, will continue her role as Chair, while Roy Newman, who farms in the Blackie area, will serve as Vice-Chair. The membership also passed a monumental resolution during the AGM that calls for a farmer plebiscite on amalgamating with the Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC).

“I am honoured for the board’s vote of confidence to continue serving farmers as Chair,” says Sawyer. “After the worst drought in 20 years and soaring fertilizer prices, we have a lot of work to do on behalf of Alberta farmers. We look forward to a big year of advocating for solutions, along with progressing the amalgamation process.”

The passed resolution follows six months of the commissions conducting farmer consultations on amalgamation. The directive to consult with farmers came from a motion passed at both commissions’ AGMs in 2019.

“Exploring the concept of amalgamation has been a large focus for both boards this year,” says Newman. “We have fully capitalized on efficiencies and cost savings by sharing staff and there are even more savings to be realized. The commissions have consulted both memberships and have seen wide-spread support for progressing to the next step – a farmer plebiscite.”

In order for Alberta Barley to request a farmer plebiscite to the Alberta Agricultural Marketing Council, as per the resolution, AWC must also pass the same resolution at their AGM in January of 2022.

Following the Alberta Barley AGM, the board welcomes new directors, Clint Jacula, Region 4; Scott Jespersen, Region 5; and Connie Matson, director-at-large.

Outgoing directors of the Alberta Barley board include Wade McAllister, former Vice-Chair, and director-at-large, along with Shane Debock, Region 5 director. McAllister served in the Vice-Chair role for two years and sat on numerous committees including finance and governance, market development and communications. Debock served two terms as an Alberta Barley director and served on numerous committees as well as representing the commission on the AgSafe Alberta board. Alberta Barley extends its gratitude to McAllister and Debock for their years of dedication to Alberta barley farmers.

For more information on the results of Alberta Barley’s 2021 elections, click here. To learn more about amalgamation and the farmer consultations by visiting

Media Contact:

Erin Tateson
Marketing Communications Manager
Alberta Wheat and Barley Commissions