Press Releases

Alberta Wheat Commission announces results from farmer governance nominations

The Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC) is pleased to announce the following results from farmer governance nominations that closed on October 29, 2021.

In Region 3, two nominees were acclaimed to hold the director positions. Jason Craig from Delburne, Alberta was newly elected and Jason Lenz from Bentley, Alberta was re-elected.

Following the submission of two nominees, both new to the role, an election will be held for a Region 2 director at the Regional Meeting in Drumheller, Alberta on November 16, 2021. Eligible Alberta wheat farmers in Region 2 will be able to vote for either Devin Hartzler from Didsbury, Alberta or Jarrod Gateman from Mossleigh, Alberta to fill the director position.

Former Alberta Barley chair Dave Bishop from Barons, Alberta was newly acclaimed to hold the position of director-at-large.

In addition to the above results from director and director-at-large nominations, Region 3 farmer Kevin Bender from Sylvan Lake, Alberta was acclaimed and re-elected to his role as a regional representative. For Region 3, two regional representative positions remain open. Eligible wheat farmers in Region 3 are encouraged to consider these open regional representative positions and can be nominated during the Regional Meeting in Red Deer, Alberta on November 17, 2021.

AWC expresses its appreciation to outgoing directors Hannah Konschuh, Region 2, Trevor Petersen, Region 3 and Janine Paly, director-at-large, for their service to Alberta farmers.

Farmers are encouraged to speak to their regional leadership or read more information on our farmer governance structure here. To see the Alberta Wheat Commission’s regional map and find your region, click here.

To learn more about the Alberta Wheat Commission’s upcoming Regional Meetings in November, including the options to attend in-person and virtually, visit our events page.

For more information about the Alberta Wheat Commission’s governance process, please contact:

Brian Kennedy
Grower Relations and Extension Manager

To arrange media interviews, please contact:

Emily Johnson
Marketing and Communications Coordinator