Under Construction

Our website is currently undergoing a transition to reflect the amalgamation of the two commissions into the new Alberta Grains brand. Until then, you’ll still be able to toggle between the Wheat and Barley sides for industry news, research and relevant information to help grow your crops, your business, and your future.

Stay tuned for the official launch of the new website!

Press Releases

The Alberta Wheat Commission calls for farmer leadership nominations

The Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC) is seeking nominations from wheat farmers in Regions 1 and 5 to join AWC’s board directors and regional representatives. Positions open for nominations include two directors and three regional representatives in Region 1 and two directors and three regional representatives in Region 5. The term of office for directors and regional representatives is three years.

Region 1 consists of southern Alberta including Lethbridge, Medicine Hat and surrounding counties. Region 5 consists of north-central Alberta including Edmonton, the Peace River Region, Barrhead and surrounding counties. For more information, refer to the AWC regional map for the list of counties in each region.

Wheat producers from Regions 1 and 5 are encouraged to nominate local leaders that will be strong representatives of farmers in their region and positive contributors to the development of research, agronomic extension, market development and policy. The elected board of directors and regional representatives will serve Alberta wheat producers by providing strategic direction to the initiatives and investments of AWC, while upholding the mission to increase the profitability of Alberta wheat producers.

"Elected farmer representation on both commission boards and committees are critical to their activities,” stated AWC Chair, Greg Sears. “Farmer voices provide not only governance and guidance for the organization but also the direct, visible link between the farm gate, decision-makers in government and the value chain.”

Nomination forms  can be downloaded on our elections page and must be returned to the AWC office by Monday, October 31, 2022 by fax (403-717-1966), email (mevans@albertawheatbarley.com) or mail (200-6815, 8 St NE, Calgary, AB, T2E7H7).

Elections, if required, will take place during regional meetings in November:

• Region 1 – Lethbridge, AB – November 15, 2022

• Region 2 – Acme, AB – November 16, 2022

• Region 3 – Lacombe, AB – November 18, 2022

• Region 4 – Vegreville, AB – November 23, 2022

• Region 5 – Westlock, AB – November 23, 2022

• Region 5 – Rycroft, AB – November 25, 2021

Further details about regional meetings can be found by visiting the events page on AWC’s website.

Farmers running for a position must have remitted payment to AWC on commercial wheat sales in either the current or previous two fiscal years, and they must grow wheat in the region in which they wish to be nominated.

More information about nomination requirements and the roles of directors and regional representatives can be found on the governance page or by contacting Megan Evans at mevans@albertawheatbarley.com.

Media Contact:

Harley Groeneveld
Marketing Communications Specialist
Alberta Wheat and Barley Commissions